Abigail Zylla 's Profile
Abigail Zylla
Georgia, United States
Climate Zone:
Warm Temperate

My Projects

(projects i'm involved in)

Ümit  Yüksel
Geoff Lawton
View Updates

About Abigail Zylla

I’m a 24-year-old who recently earned my undergraduate degree studying cultural and environmental anthropology (with minors in Geography, Women’s Studies, and Religion; and certificates in Environmental Ethics and Global Studies). I’ve been in Fiji since September 2010 working on an independent project under a Fulbright grant (a case-study on discourse and practice of “sustainability” in community-based marine conservation and eco-tourism). Once the grant term is done, I’d ideally like to find a job (or internship where I can at least break-even) doing social, environmental, and/or political action work – I’m more of an activist than an academic at heart, and am ready to find a project to dive into.

My aim now is to explore programs I could potentially get involved in (long-term) and connect with people with similar drives and interests who I might be able to collaborate with… I’m very particular about the sorts of programs I would like to become involved with and devote my energies to – I’m looking for something I can be excited about and feel driven to work toward (hopefully for more than just a short-term gig), without feeling that nuances of the program conflict with my own values and (theoretically) critical perspective.

I’m most passionate about local-scale community empowerment, women’s rights and empowerment movements, indigenous rights, environmental conservation and environmental justice programs, and holistic sustainable food/waste system projects… I’m most interested in getting involved with socially and politically conscientious movements – preferably those with grass-roots and community-based groundings. I have very little experience with permaculture projects/programs thus far (am rather new to the movement), but am very interested in getting more involved!

Past experiences:
Visual design/illustration
Childcare and education (babysitting, after-school programs for elementary and middle school youth)
Curriculum development (small-scale, for the educational wing of an Ecology Research Station)
Management/spearheading organizations, projects, and events (started and directed a number of student organizations and local nonprofits while in University)
Some experience with food gardens (personal and community projects)
Ethnographic research (two ten-month independent projects)

Have experience with both front-line leadership and the behind-the-scenes work in small-scale organizations
Have experience with organization and planning (student groups, local nonprofits)
Motivated toward social, political, and ecological activism, and willing to do tedious, challenging work for a cause I believe in
Patient and open-minded, able to work well in a collaborative group
Hold a Critical perspective – will not simply accept a project or idea without investigating both the idea and my own biases
Driven and hard-working, without being aggressive, controlling, or impatient – not particularly strong-armed (physically), but dedicated and will finish anything I start.
Creative -- both visually (experience with artwork and design) and in terms of problem-solving and conflict resolution
Capable of simultaneously honing in on details and remaining big-picture oriented
Not particularly demanding (as long as basic necessities are covered, I’m happy to live simply and do without ‘the extras’)


My Badges
Aid worker Member

Report Abigail Zylla


or cancel

Hide Abigail Zylla


or cancel