Wpn help banner

Martin Korndoerfer 's Profile

Martin Korndoerfer


  • Joined: 08/09/2011
  • Location: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
  • Climate Zone: Cool Temperate
  • Gender: Male

My Projects

(projects i'm involved in)


(projects i'm following)

    Daraja Academy Permaculture Project Permaculture Research Institute-Kenya New School Permaculture Quinta do Vale da Lama Transition Garden Prisdorf Lamplstaett Forest Garden Permaculture Siebzger Paradiesgarten Biomeiler Jain Pain



Adam Dusen Eloise Fisher Marilyn McHugh Matthias Geßmann Nicolas Netien Ute Bohnsack


elin lindhagen duby Geoff Lawton Marilyn McHugh Nicolas Netien Rhamis Kent Richard Perkins

Report Martin Korndoerfer


or cancel

Hide Martin Korndoerfer


or cancel

View Updates

About Martin Korndoerfer

I was born in 1979 in Munich and studied Biochemistry up to BSc level (2004). Then i travelled to Thailand and moved to Australia with my Australian wife (2005/2006). After two years of living in Brisbane we moved to Christchurch, NZ to do our MSc degrees in Environmental Science (2007-2009). The MSc thesis took me to Yelwa, Nigeria where i researched land-use and land-cover changes around Ngel Nyaki forest reserve. After this I worked as an English teacher in South Korea and moved back to Germany in 2010.

I first came in contact with permaculture activities through visiting Northey City Farm in Brisbane with a friend. At the University of Canterbury I joined Kakariki, the University Sustainability Club, which were running an amazing little garden in which some permaculture principles were incorporated. I wanted to do a PDC ever since i saw Geoff Lawton's Greening the Desert video in 2008 on Youtube, but only got around to it in 2011.

At the moment I am in the process of starting a new job in Hamburg, so i will start a little permaculture project in my garden there but in the long run i would like to get more involved in using permaculture as an effective means of aidwork in developing countries. I still have connections to different locations in Nigeria as well as helping out in an NGO in Kenya that is looking after orphans (http://www.hakuna-matata-project.org).
I will pay a visit to Kenya at the end of September for two weeks and try to start a project for this NGO on its lands near Meru. I would like to also re-visit Yelwa and see if i can implement a project there too, but I am aware that I have to do one step at a time...