Somesh De Swardt 's Profile
Somesh De Swardt
Details
Joined:
23/05/2014
Location:
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Climate Zone:
Warm Temperate
Gender:
Male
Web site:
www.someshdeswardt.com





My Projects

(projects i'm involved in)


Projects

(projects i'm following)

Klien Karoo Sustainable Dryland Permaculture Project Botterbaksgat Farm Honeyville FOOD FOREST Vamos Verde Quinta do Vale da Lama Varzea da Gonçala Quinta do Vale Monte do Carrascal Casa Verde - Agroecologia Tamera Refúgio do Demiurgo Vale do Clajá
Followers
Xavier Francis
Following
Geoff Lawton Kayla Venus Wolfaardt loiseau romain Mark Bruins Susan  van de Griendt
View Updates

About Somesh De Swardt

I was born in Johannesburg in July 1973 and started drumming at the age of 24 at the local Greenside Drum Cafe. Carried on learning from various teachers in JHB like Munki Mcapayi (now based in Canada) and Cape Town before relocating to London in 1997.

I changed my first name from Grant to Somesh in 1998 after visiting India for 6 weeks and attending the OSHO Retreat Centre in Pune where I discovered the benefits of meditation and community.

I started teaching drumming and running my own drum circle's after taking part in a Drum Circle Facilitation course by Arthur Hull 'Drum Circle Guru'. I was so inspired by the power of the drum I travelled to Hawaii in 2001 to take Advanced Facilitation Training with Arthur Hull.

I founded the company Drum Jam in 2001 http://www.drumjam.co.uk and went on to facilitate thousands of groups form nursery kids to a 1000 corporate executives and performing in fromt of 8000 people in Barcelona. I have also been featured in a number of news articles and on TV like BBC.

I have travelled to the West African Countries of Guinnea, Senegal, Ghana & Gambia to find the true teachings from the authentic african master drummers. Since then I have studied with Mamady Keita (Guinnea), Yaw Asumadu (Ghana), Sekou Keita (Guinnea), Nansady Keita (Guinnea) and a number of other fantastic drummers.

I have a passion for teaching drumming to beginners and spreading the message of the drum through connection and inspiration. Currently lives in Knysna, South Africa with his family, wife Shivani and 4 year old son Zenn.

My life has now expanded beyond music and I am studying in the fields of Permaculture and Sustainable Technology. As a family we see our future as living in community and we hope to be able to join an EcoVillage in Europe in the near future.

Updates

My Badges
Aid worker Member

Report Somesh De Swardt

Reason:

or cancel

Hide Somesh De Swardt

Reason:

or cancel